Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, today I graduated from "will-crash" to "has-crashed."

I also graduated to the minivan.

I'm fine, just slid for a while and got some bruises. I'm just very frustrated with myself for taking a turn too fast when the road was cold & damp.

The bike, however, is pretty messed up.

• The steering is twisted, which probably means the forks are ruined.
  • The left valve cover has a fairly small scuff mark where it slid along the road, but there is oil leaking from the scuff now??? I guess the metal there is very thin (no engine guards).
  • The gearshift lever is all bent up now, and I couldn't get it into 2nd gear. It will go into neutral or 1st.
  • And of course I scraped the turn signals off and general tore up L side of the bike.

Combined cost of repairs will probably far exceed the $$ value of the bike. Not sure what I'll do. I'll post pics when I can.

·
Super Moderator
2,851 Posts
Glad to hear your OK. Others haven't fared so well. Sounds like you just created yourself a winter project though. I'm sure we can come up with parts for you.

·
Registered
5,563 Posts
glad your ok,thats the main thing.

i dont think the damage to your bike will be as bad as you think....hopefully

·
Registered
95 Posts
Hi FBCJump,-- most important, we're glad to hear you're O.K. (with bruises); could have been alot worse.

Bike Rehab 1) Bent FRAME? 2) Forks- not hard or too costly to replace with good salvaged units. 3) Valve cover bent , leaking- not a big problem. Unless the cylinder head is bent.

Inspect carefully. 4) Foot gear pedal- not a big problem UNLESS you bent the internal gear mechanism ( maybe) This is an engine out job to reair, with salvaged transmission (GEAR)

components. You'll need to do a very through inspection. If you're a good DIY'er, and use nice recycled parts, its possible financially. If not, -it may now be a parts bike.