Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I'm Mat. i just made my account today. also i just bought my first bike today, a honda cx500 custom. the speedometer is broken, i think its just the cable, but i want to put a new one on. i found this one online, V-Twin Mini Speedometer with 2240:60 Ratio - FXST/FLST Models - VT-39-0579 i like the look of it and i think it is the right ratio but i am not sure if is completely compatible.
Any help is appreciated, again this is my first bike i am new to ridding. just took the motorcycle safety class a couple months ago. and thank you.

·
Registered
361 Posts
Are you looking to replace it for vanity? Is it not operating? First inspect the cable like condo said. No joy? Test it with a drill. Dismount the cable on the wheel side simply hook a drill up and see if it spins the clock. Does the needle jump up n down at speeds in normal operation.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I do need to replace the cable because its disconnected and broken, I also do want to change it out for vanity i plan on slowly turning this bike into a cafe. I want to get a speedometer with the warning lights built in and an iphone mount next to it. eventually a clubman handlebar and a cafe racer style seat. also strip a lot of the weight on the bike. anyway here is a picture of the bike:

·
Super Moderator
11,462 Posts
Just to insert a testing tip that was mentioned earlier.....if using a drill to test the speedo, make sure you run the drill in reverse!
There is plenty of good info in the WIKI *see below* about the speedos.

Joel in the Couve

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)