Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
837 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK...I'm a relative newbie on the other forum as well, but I was astonished after riding on hard surfaced roads that my back wheel was as dirty as it was! Greasy dirt to boot. I didn't drive over any such surface. It was all hard and clean. Is it coming from my bike?

JC

·
Registered
381 Posts
OK...I'm a relative newbie on the other forum as well, but I was astonished after riding on hard surfaced roads that my back wheel was as dirty as it was! Greasy dirt to boot. I didn't drive over any such surface. It was all hard and clean. Is it coming from my bike?

JC

If you're riding in the center of your lane, it's not as clean as you think. That's where cars drop whatever's leaking.

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
Since your back tire is smaller than your front tire the back tire turns more revolutions to go the same distance as the front one....there for it is coming in contact with the dirt or whatever is on the road more than the front tire therefore causing it to get dirtier.

How's that for an analytical, scientifically researched, logical answer to your question ? LMAO

If you think about it this is why the rear tire wears out faster than the front, it's surface is used more to go the same distance as the front.

·
Registered
2,492 Posts
"How's that for an analytical, scientifically researched, logical answer to your question ?"

Not very good, actually. If you ride a mile, both front and rear tires are contacting a mile of "dirty" road. No matter the diameter of the tire. One might argue that after the front tire picks up a little dirt, there is less for the rear to catch?

The front tire is probably stirring up some junk that the rear wheel then has to ride through though.

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
Rick, I hate to also burst your mental bubble, but with a smaller tire, it is spinning faster and therefore should throw off dirt better than a slower turning one.