1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
2,601 Posts
The question was why. As with most I started out on tricycles to small bicycles with training wheels to a really nice go-cart at age of 6. Built a lot of things including a hovercraft that worked poorly but I never gave up. Back then you could buy a semi-seized 125 Yamaha Enduro for $25, put $25 more into it off you went.

·
Registered
511 Posts
Bikes and horses. The feeling is the same. Getting away while going. Independence and adventure. Feeling of freedom. A way to clear thoughts and get rid of stress. A feeling of unselfish confidence and pride. I never ride for utility but it sure is ok for those who do. No matter how cold or wet or miserable the ride was as long as no mishap happens, it was a good ride. It's always better than church.

·
Super Moderator
15,416 Posts
Ok Marshal

The reason why is I love to get out and see stuff. I have been riding quads/fourwheelers since 1988. Yeah I was 7. We had lots of land and state land behind it so I could drive for hours. The only advantage/disadvantage was the mud. And I got it everywhere.

Well truck and cars don't really give the same feeling but there was a bike that needed help and I brought it back to life. Nothing beats getting out in the country where the roads aren't straight and the hills start rolling.

Plus the bike getting 40-50mpg beats my truck getting 13-20mpg.

·
Registered
329 Posts
They must ride pretty slow at age 81 if it takes them 13 days to 1100 km. I'd hate to get stuck behind them on the highway. What is that like 50 miles a day ?

·
Registered
5,563 Posts
there is one hell of a difference,being trapped driving a car and riding a bike.its the escapeism.a disease,an illness..you either suffer from it,or you dont.

·
Registered
3,771 Posts
They must ride pretty slow at age 81 if it takes them 13 days to 1100 km. I'd hate to get stuck behind them on the highway. What is that like 50 miles a day ?