Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen these valves covers on a few bikes but all of them were custom cafe builds. I know I'm new to the scene but every CX/GL motor I've seen were of the rounded standard style covers that everyone else is rock'n. I really like them and can't seem to find any info on them or what they came off of. I'd also love ve any info on the bike itself and who built it. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Joe

Attachments

·
Registered
25 Posts
I'm not sure where you can get them, but if you find someplace let me know because I dig em! There's another thread about them over here

·
Registered
529 Posts
I'm not sure where you can get them, but if you find someplace let me know because I dig em! There's another thread about them over here
+1

·
Registered
3,593 Posts
A rare aftermarket part.

Unicorn poop.
Even rarer than rocking horse poop.
Might see a pair on eBay every four or five years when someone strips a bike and doesn't know what they are.

·
Registered
1,278 Posts
and the few times I've seen them pop up they were ridiculously expensive

·
Administrator
1,556 Posts
Yeah, I had a pair and first off, the letters weren't complete. The centers of the "O", "A", and "D" in HONDA weren't cut out. Second, the castings were porous!! They leaked oil THROUGH THE ALUMINUM. Also, the paint wasn't chemical resistant at all. Pour a little gas on it by accident and the paint didn't bubble, didn't soften... it just came off. Immediately. Like it was painted with dry erase markers. Anyhow, I think I might have thrown them away, but there's a chance I still have them somewhere. I suppose you could POR-15 the inside, have the insides of the letters machined out, and paint them with VHT engine enamel and they'd look okay.

Charles.

·
Registered
40 Posts