Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'm currently in the middle of a CX500 project and the engine is out.
I have limited engine knowledge but what I've got planned is:

rebuild the clutch (gears weren't engaging)
Reset cam chain tensioner
Check valve clearances
Check water pump housing as there was crystalized coolant in the pipes

Is there anything else I should check or replace whilst it's out?

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
Without some more information, it is hard to say, but I would at a minimum remove the rear cover, replace the mechanical seal, carefully evaluate the cam chain, guides, tensioner and replace if worn, and do all of the electrical checks on the stator in addition to a visual examination and replace it if you are not sure it is OK.
In other words, consider a triple bypass after being sure the rest of the engine is OK.

·
Registered
4,398 Posts
Crystalized coolant???? Never heard of such a thing. Is this like powdered water?

I agree with Nolimtz. What is the mileage? Yes, perform the "High Mileage" maintenance schedule in the FSM.

Then step forward. Engines are not affected by age. Engines are affected by mileage and maintenance.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Apologies, it's at 35k miles.
I bought it as a project bike and it was a state (I don't think it's ran in over 20-30 years)
I did get it running although the idle was rediculously fast and it was backfiring through the carbs.

The main reason the engine is out as everything is getting sandblasted and powdercoated.

I didn't notice any issues with leaks but again, the cooling system was blocked so hard to tell.

·
Registered
4,398 Posts
Before we can give much suggestions. Please share the year and model.

Off hand.
The carbs will likely need service. Get a copy of Larry Cargill's Carb book. Follow it by the letter.
Download the FSM (Factory Service Manual). Perform the High Mileage service.