Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1983 Honda CX650C with Murray's Carbs and stock exhaust for now
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I saw this video of a CX650 that sounds similar to a muscle car. I want to get a sound like this bike has at open throttle. I already have murray's carbs on the way and plan to nix the H box. I would just order the peashooter mufflers the guy in the video links to, but it appears they are no longer available. (Link below to video)

The Pure Sound of my Honda CX Cafe Racer

Basically I have zero knowledge of exhaust things, so any help figuring out how to create this would be helpful!

Edit: If anyone wants to send me clips of their exhaust sound/setup, I would love to be more familiar with what these bikes can sound like.

·
Registered
2,839 Posts
If you want more mid-range consider a legally-baffled 2 into1....(good ol' Brit bike sound)
If using a 2 into 2 as the video, some baffling still needed...

The note in the posted video reminds me of the baked beans scene in Blazing Saddles.... (maybe in real life sounds better)

·
Registered
3 Posts
The guy actually lists the exhaust in the video description

Anything with a louvred baffle will make it sound like that I've found. I have shorty emgo mufflers (cheap as) but with an eBay louvred baffle and some proper packing, they sound similar to this.

Murray's carbs will burble on overrun like in the video but not quite as much, I leaned out my air screw to get rid of it.

Just a heads up though, while it's not Harley straight pipe loud, you'll find yourself needing earplugs on the highway.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The guy actually lists the exhaust in the video description

Anything with a louvred baffle will make it sound like that I've found. I have shorty emgo mufflers (cheap as) but with an eBay louvred baffle and some proper packing, they sound similar to this.