Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
696 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm on a crash course reading all the old posts and archives here, but there isn't time to get to them all. Looks like a fine, friendly forum though!

Within a couple days I'll be checking out a '79 CX500 and I'm trying to find out what I should check for on this oddball motor. I see from posts here that there is a possibility that trying to run the bike on a dead battery will fry the charging system. Well this bike is advertised with a dead battery; I was going to start it with the battery from my '86 VFR700.

Is jump-starting this bike a bad idea (from another motorcycle and not a car, of course)?

I've read several posts about failed stators; is this a deal-breaker? What about this CDI thing?

I keep hearing about the water pump seal, too. An issue here? Any way to tell? How hard is the repair?

I've had over 10 years' riding experience and do all my own maintenance on my bikes; chassis bearings, carbs, valve adjusts and general "freshening up" don't bother me.

But I don't know much about this engine's weak points, so if you can tell me what to look for I would certainly appreciate it.

I had a chance to ride a ragged-out CX500 years ago and found it to be a torquey hoot of a motorcycle; so if this bike is a solid platform mechanically, it looks to be cosmetically more or less complete and I'm hoping to bring it home to my geriatric stable.

Thanks a lot for the help...

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
A couple of answers for you. It shouldn't hurt the bike to run it with a dead battery. The stator supplies the ignition current, and a different section of the stator provides the charging current. I would leave the old one in and jump from another battery. It doesn't make any difference if it is a car battery or bike battery. 12 volts is 12 volts.