Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I suggest installing a new set of plugs, and then monitor them for color. There is a mixture setting procedure in the manual. Do you have the stock airbox/filter setup or have you gone pods on your bike?

I dont have a manual and i do have pods but i plug them up with tape for now to get it started

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
assuming you have the H-box, that means nothing. Feel the head pipe, well, feel NEAR the headpipe after it's been running for a few minutes and you should know if both are firing or not. I could see the left only firing, and the right still getting warm due to the engine block warming up, but the head pipe should be nearly the same temp no matter what if both are firing

This is just a somewhat educated guess, I'm no scientist or a true mechanic, but I have logic and turn wrenches lol, so I just guess things most of the time

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
assuming you have the H-box, that means nothing. Feel the head pipe, well, feel NEAR the headpipe after it's been running for a few minutes and you should know if both are firing or not. I could see the left only firing, and the right still getting warm due to the engine block warming up, but the head pipe should be nearly the same temp no matter what if both are firing

This is just a somewhat educated guess, I'm no scientist or a true mechanic, but I have logic and turn wrenches lol, so I just guess things most of the time

Right cyl is fireing and getting spark and all that, but it backfires and misfires. and im trying to get my angine to run for a few minutes, thts the problem here =]

·
Registered
1,474 Posts
I dont have a manual and i do have pods but i plug them up with tape for now to get it started