Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

New to the forum as I just got a CX500 delivered from a seller on ebay last night. It works well at low speeds but I cant seem to get it over 60mph at a push!

It feels comfortable at 50mph... I've had a look and people have said 85mph should be comfortable and even a ton should be possible...

What are the first things I should check before going to a garage? Any help would be appreciated as this is my first 'old' bike and I'm no mechanic...

Thanks
Joseph

·
Registered
2,281 Posts
1. High speed winding on the stator
2. Swap CDI boxes
3. Jets in the correct towers
4. Spark plugs
5. Coils
6. Compression
7. Black plugs in carbs
8. Leaking intake runners
9. Restricted exhaust
19. Clogged air filter

Welcome to the forum, Joseph. Now you will need to start studying the Wiki, the forum posts, and the Factory Service Manual. References to all of the above are contained in those sources. A garage will either laugh at you for bringing in a 30+ year old bike, or will rob you in the process of fixing it.

·
Registered
184 Posts