Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I am currently in the process of restoring my bike, and therefore I am considering a full engine restore.
Everything on the bike works properly, but in 5th gear on high rpms the engine stutters (which I think is the carbs?).

So is it necessary or meaninful to tear the whole engine apart and replace bolts, gaskets and seals or should I wait until problems occur?
I am getting an Ignitech, but this shouldn't have anything to do with a full engine restore(?).

Please have in mind that I am a total newbie :)

/Steffen

·
Super Moderator
3,260 Posts
Find the problem before planning an engine restoration!

Is it the '82? CDI or TI? Many '82s around the world are TI, but not everywhere/always.

https://motofaction.org/motorcycles...ferences-which-which-cx500-gl500-cx650-gl650/

When were the carbs last cleaned? There's plenty of other relatively easy things to check like plugs, plug caps, pulse generators for TI etc. to give you a better picture of what's going on.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's the CDI model, that is why I am changing to an Ignitech as I want to have the m-unit blue in the bike.
Furthermore I am planning on getting murrays carbs - so I am not bothered to work on my current carbs.

What about the dental mirror cam chain method? Would that be a good idea to look into or just wait until I notice any problems?

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
How much kilometers did the engine run ?

High revs much over 5.500-600 revs ?

In any case make at first a stator test, and do the dental mirror test.
No idea, there is no speedometer or tachometer on the bike but I was overtaking a lot of cars so I would say I was going about 120+ km/h.

·
Registered
520 Posts