Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I've looked around quite a bit and I can't find any answers. I'm replacing by throttle cables but I can't figure out how to reuse the housing on the handle bars. One of the two cable openings on the housing has a steal tube sticking out of it that I can't remove and on the inside of that opening is a hole too small the fit the cable end through. What am I missing here? It doesn't seem like anyone else has had an issue with this. I'm a noob so any help is appreciated!
Automotive tire Gas Toy Machine Bumper

Tire Automotive tire Wheel Tread Finger

·
Premium Member
1978 CX500 "The Grub", 1983 GL650I "Nimbus"
12,484 Posts
The bent metal pipe is part of the cable sheath.
What replacements did you get?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The bent metal pipe is part of the cable sheath.
What replacements did you get?
I haven't ordered one yet. I was just going to get the OEM replacement on eBay or whatever but I wanted to figure out this stock housing thing first. If I can't get the pipe out is the housing junk? I've tried turning, pulling, turning and pulling.

·
Premium Member
12,484 Posts
It should unscrew. Normal right hand thread.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It should unscrew. Normal right hand thread.
Thanks for the reply. It just spins freely and I cant get it to catch the threads. But even if I replace the housing with another stock one, how are you guys getting the cable end through the small hole? Is everybody just cutting the end off and then soldering it back on?

·
Registered
425 Posts
Thanks for the reply. It just spins freely and I cant get it to catch the threads. But even if I replace the housing with another stock one, how are you guys getting the cable end through the small hole? Is everybody just cutting the end off and then soldering it back on?