Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got my cx500 a few months ago and first time I ever rode a bike was in february. However, I have a degree in mechanical engineering and have always enjoyed DIY stuff so I have some basic knowledge and am trying to do all the work myself. I've fully taken apart the carbs, cleaned them, balanced them with a homemade manometer, and the bike is back running great (mostly). Since I don't have a full service record I just changed the engine oil to be sure, and I want to make sure the cams and timing are correct. My other concern is the RPMs which I assume is a clutch or transmission question.

1. The wiki on how to adjust the cam chain & valves wasn't detailed enough for me to be comfortable doing it myself. Does anyone have more resources on this subject?
2. My RPM at 60 MPH is about 7000 which seems very high to me. What is the typical cruise RPM and what might be causing mine to be so high?

Thank you for your replies!

·
Registered
258 Posts
I'm sure the cam and timing (non-adjustable) are fine. There are some resisters built into the spark plug caps that can give you some trouble if they are bad. Check them out. I have a Clymers Manual and the adjustment procedure was easy (for the cam chain).
Your RPM seems a bit high. I would suspect an inaccurate tach or a slipping clutch. My 500 seems to carry speed at about .011% of RPM, hence 6,000 RPM = 66 MPH approx. This is about the bottom of the power curve (RPM wise).
What year is your beast and how many miles on it? There is a fairly predictable service life on several items that greatly affect your bikes performance.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)