Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought my first Honda CX500c a couple weeks ago. It has about 32,000 miles but in great condition. The previous owner told me I would need to check the valve tappet clearance soon. So when I finished adjusting the valve clearance, I decided to adjust the cam chain. The original owners manual says that I need to make sure it is on TDC Left or showing the TL mark in the timing mark hole. Then the manual tells me to loosen the lock bolt about the timing mark hole which will automatically adjust the cam chain. When I screwed the lock bolt tight, I believe I tightened it too much and stripped the threads because it was getting snug but then became very loose and now just spins. Any recommendations on what to try next? I want to avoid pulling the engine if I can. I have some mechanical experience but not a pro by any means. Would I be able to replace the lock bolt and not have to drop the engine?

·
Super Moderator
4,060 Posts
If the thread in the engine is stripped you will have to take the engine out and remove the rear cover. The stripped thread can be repaired with a helicoil insert. Be sure to renew the o-ring on the cam chain adjuster bolt while you have the engine apart. Also a good time to renew the mechanical seal for the water pump and to inspect cam chain tensioner blades, stator and starter clutch.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Mike, Thank You
What if the bolt is stripped but the female part is not? Essentially, I should do a what they call a triple bypass if I need to remove the engine anyway? Do you know of any resources I could look at to complete this? I am wondering if I will be able to do this as I only have some mechanical experience. Should I seek professional help? I know I have a lot of questions, so any and all information is greatly appreciated.
-Jake

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Murray,