Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I'm new to the whole CX500 scene and have just bought a US Import, 1980 CX500 unfinished cafe racer project, which I want to develop a style of my own with. What is a good upside down front forks/twin disk/spoke wheel setup please. The bike has standard CX500 Sport wheels and original forks. For interest, the registered keeper on the US Certificate of Title Document was from Augusta, Kansas. I am in the UK, and have excellent access to used parts.
Cheers guys.

·
Registered
1978 CX500 "The Grub", 1983 GL650I "Nimbus"
12,089 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
What's the current condition of your new acquisition? I suggest you have it running and road-worthy before you start making big changes. You'll get better, more functional results if you're familiar with the platform before modifying.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome to the forum!
What's the current condition of your new acquisition? I suggest you have it running and road-worthy before you start making big changes. You'll get better, more functional results if you're familiar with the platform before modifying.
Thanks, good to be on board. The bike is roadworthy and running, it was sold as "unfinished" but it looks to me like it just needs cosmetics. Its time to start modifying it to my taste, hence the question about spoke wheels, USD forks and twin discs. I got a bargain, I'm really pleased.

·
Super Moderator
5,669 Posts

·
Super Moderator
5,669 Posts
The bike in the first link has spoked wheels, just hard to see because of the gigantic brake rotors.

·
Administrator
2021 Benelli Leoncino Trail - 2021 CSC SG400 - 2017 SSR Buccaneer 250i - Several CX project bikes
1,752 Posts