Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a subaru mechanic so there are a few modified subaru parts on my bike. I've been thinking about a spin on filter mod. I think the PO(S) used their teeth to remove the OE filter bolt, and it doesn't look like it will survive another oil change. I came across an oil filter union witch is basicly a male-male hollow bolt with a 22mm nut in the center. It threads in fine but the filter has about 5mm gap to the gasket and mating surface. I think the flange on the cover could be ground flush. How important is a perfectly smooth surface on the cover where the union would go? Is this the wrong approach? And the subaru filter was a little to small anyone know what filter to use?

·
Registered
343 Posts
Im a subaru mechanic so there are a few modified subaru parts on my bike. I've been thinking about a spin on filter mod. I think the PO(S) used their teeth to remove the OE filter bolt, and it doesn't look like it will survive another oil change. I came across an oil filter union witch is basicly a male-male hollow bolt with a 22mm nut in the center. It threads in fine but the filter has about 5mm gap to the gasket and mating surface. I think the flange on the cover could be ground flush. How important is a perfectly smooth surface on the cover where the union would go? Is this the wrong approach? And the subaru filter was a little to small anyone know what filter to use?
Randakk's site lists a filter conversion kit for the CX. You might like to look at it. (Randakks Goldwing site), AGB-1

·
Registered
583 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
edit- dumb comment removed!

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
the replacement bolt is almost the same price as the adapter. no reason not to go with it

·
Registered
602 Posts
the replacement bolt is almost the same price as the adapter. no reason not to go with it