Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys, Newbie here , have a 83 honda cx650 which I picked up cheap on ebay just be4 xmas, not much need for RWC and now she back on the road ,all good , the only thing that I have found, she go through spark plugs every 400 k's , is this normal for this model of bike or is there a easy Fix to this problem, regards Alex

p.s this is my bike on youtube after I give her a paint job

My link

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Is this a turbo or the E model? It's beautiful, and what a bark!!! what do you mean it goes through spark plugs? Can you give us a picture of one as an example?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi , the is E-model, not many Turbo models here in Downunder, what I'm find that the plugs are dark in colour after I try to start it , I change the plugs with new ones and fires up with no problems cheers Alex

·
Super Moderator
23,403 Posts
As natedawg said, a picture of the used plug might help to get some sort of consensus on a diagnosis.

Also, what plugs are you running, perhaps the wrong heat range?

Where in Oz are you?

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
So either you are running rich or you are burning oil. Make a photobucket account or I hear Flicker is also free, and upload your picture to that. Then copy and paste the img link to your post. It will look like text until you post, then it will result in a picture. Very handy skill to have.

·
Super Moderator
23,403 Posts
Mmmmm... sooty. On the surface of things this would indicate a carb fault.

This is also what the plugs on my bike looked like when my bike had the issue with the killswitch though. Incomplete combustion I guess as my plugs are generally a darkish tan.

If your bike was stopping from fuel starvation I would expect a leaner appearance to the plugs.