Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just upgraded to Murray's Carbs which are amazing!!
I did just notice a slight bog down on sharp acceleration (only have started on stand so far as my battery isn't secured yet)

As to if this is "normal" I should note that my H Box is still in tact and the pipe extensions to enable H Box removal aren't here quite yet.. and.. one of my pipes has a small crack at the seam. Could this cause something like this?

I'm a novice to all of this, so any thoughts are greatly appreciated!

Video recording of this

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also... I ordered new Spark caps as mine were pretty corroded. Could also be a culprit

·
Registered
252 Posts
I essentially have the same setup as you--murray carbs, hbox, leaky exhaust pipes...though i also have done the brass rod mod and have an ignitech.

If youre at a standstill and you go wide open, it will bog a bit. Slide carbs like you rolling into the throttle. Gotta remember--instead of controlling just the air flow like the CV carbs, you're now controlling air and fuel. The slide carbs will act a bit different from the CV's.

edit: ill watch the video when im home to see if anything funny is going on...or someone else will chime in.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I hear ya! interesting and makes total sense. Also.. i'm not going to often "floor it" when in neutral on a stand. I'll obviously get more used to it as I start riding it. Just gotta secure the battery

·
Registered
586 Posts