Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm on another computer away from home, hi-speed. At home I have only dial up (ugh).



Anyway, lots of issues the last 5 days accessing this site with the dial-up. Both with Mozilla and IntExploder. Maybe my thoughts are not clean and pure. Anything else I go to is fine. Some issues on my end or with our beloved site? Connection diagnostics indicated good connection. I have to refresh ten times plus to even get the opening page. And that is as far I get. Not all icons appear. Cannot open any topics.



Suggestions? I may not be able to respond so don't think I am being a pooh head. I'll just try whatever anyone suggests. Click my heels three times and say "There's no place like home....."?



Thanks!



Hoppy
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
762 Posts
You are not the first to report "issues"



link
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,999 Posts
You are not the first to report "issues"



link


for what it's worth, the following is the error message that I get in firefox,,





The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because it uses an invalid or unsupported form of compression.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,597 Posts
this is weird because i use firefox and it works great for me all the time
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,999 Posts
this is weird because i use firefox and it works great for me all the time


I did a search on the error I posted above and found some people were able to remedy the problem by emptying their browser cache, I cleared mine and it does seem to be working better right now.



Tools/Clear recent history/

Time frame = Everything



You will have to sign in again after clearing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
762 Posts
I wish my solution was that easy. Problems are intermittent and do not go away with a change in location (work vs home).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
762 Posts
Just experienced 10+ minutes of "can't establish a connection to the server at cx500forum.com."



multiple browsers, multiple computers...



Also noticed during that time (approx. 2:42 until 2:56) that there were no new posts or activity on the site, yet noone else is having issues???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,999 Posts
Just experienced 10+ minutes of "can't establish a connection to the server at cx500forum.com."



multiple browsers, multiple computers...



Also noticed during that time (approx. 2:42 until 2:56) that there were no new posts or activity on the site, yet noone else is having issues???


Same here. It must just have been a coincidence that I was able to connect OK earlier after cleaning the browser cache.

I could not get the old forum either.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
762 Posts
They are hosted on the same server, so that makes perfect sense that we were unable to access either. Oh well, looks like the new site/server is not without bugs. I started noticing issues 7-10 days ago.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
397 Posts
No problems here, but if there were problems I could have easily missed them because I only check out the forum a couple of times a day. I'm using Firefox. v. 3.6.12
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
762 Posts
People who are on a lot are most likely the ones who will notice the intermittent outages...



I happened to have a slow day at work today, so I was on quite a bit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,597 Posts
ok some one caused some bad mojo.......i couldnt get on earlier today for about 10 or so minutes around 1 o clock today and it sucked god i hope this site isnt going down like the old one did......i dont want to rebuild up all my posts a third time..........
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
762 Posts
lucky, your 1:00 was my 3:00 which is when I reported problems above
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,601 Posts
Noticed that too here in OKC.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
762 Posts
Today I got this message in firefox a few times:



Content Encoding Error

The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because it uses an invalid or unsupported form of compression.



* Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem.





When I tried safari I got this message:



Safari can’t open the page.

Safari can’t open the page “http://cx500forum.com/” because the server unexpectedly dropped the connection. This sometimes occurs when the server is busy. Wait for a few minutes, and then try again.





Usually just trying again would get it to load...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
422 Posts
Yeah I was just having issues too. Using Chrome it would load posts sometimes - but when it did it would be a few elements scattered about but nothing really usable. Then our firewall here at work started telling me the server wasn't responding.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Still no luck from home. This computer (6 miles away)has no trouble. (hi-speed thru cable).



Gave my home computer a partial enema (defrag, ran virus scans Shield Deluxe and Threatfire, dumped dozens of favs, dumped cookies, dumped all of history , tried with all antivirus suspended,.... etc etc) but I'm certainly no expert at rooting out all the unneeded things. I am occasionaly able to get the opening page with Mozilla but if I try to move anywhere within site the whole schmoe gets dropped. I miss you all.



Hoppy
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top