Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1979 CX500C
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

I'm relatively new to riding and I'm a short guy. I had a mechanic friend lower my bike about 1.5 inches, but now my side stand (and obviously center stand) are too long. I'll need to fix that... I think the side stand stock height is 10.5", Would anyone recommend an aftermarket side stand I could install that would be ~8-8.5"?

Thanks!

Max

·
Super Moderator
'84 CX650E that is evolving into a GL500
17,305 Posts
I'd make a dimensioned sketch and start visiting local bike salvage places to see what might fit.

BTW: How did he lower it that much? The best wisdom here says that the rear end shouldn't be raised or lowered enough to cause more than a 4.5 degree angle at the U-joint...

·
Registered
1979 CX500C
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Its actually more like 1" in the back and lowering suspension in the front to match. Ok, so not something I'd be able to buy as an aftermarket thing and likely only something I'd be able to find as salvage? Do people also cut and re-weld their original one?

·
Super Moderator
17,305 Posts
That has been done too, but the design of a lot of Japanese bike sidestands in the '70s & '80s leaves a lot to be desired and you might be able to find something better while you're at it. Particularly, they tend to contact the ground too close to the bike so that the stand itself is so vertical that unless you always park on concrete the end of the stand will be driven straight into the ground.
Shortening the stand to correct for lean angle will make that worse.

From what I've seen Suzukis' stands were a bit worse than Hondas; I had a '78 GS400 and its stand was so vertical I always had to carry something to put under it, not to mention holding the bike a bit too close to vertical for my liking (on windy days I tried to park with it leaning away from the wind so it wouldn't be blown over).