Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys...

I have a couple sets of twin piston brake calipers that are in very nice condition but seized tighter than some of you tighten your valve cover bolts!

My question is if any of you experienced brake guys have any tricks to PREPARE the calipers for piston extraction before actually attempting. I have all the time in the world to either soak them, heat them, cool them....

I have tried compressed air (120psi) to no avail.

I have a good master cylinder and a short brake hose so I think my next attempt will be to rig the MC on a old handlebar, hook up the calipers, bleed the system and try pushing the pistons out with hydraulic pressure. Wondering if I could heat them with a heat gun high enough to really soften the seals before pumping would begin?

·
Registered
174 Posts
Try using the hydraulic method like you said, that should work. The piston should move...you shouldn't need to soak it or anything with this method if you actually are getting pressure.

·
Super Moderator
15,413 Posts
Don't forget putting something between the caliper so if one decides to jump the gun it can be stopped and have the other catch up.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Maybe you can use a C clamps, while the brake pads are still in , to push the piston slowly in,-- breaking the (seizure). Be sure to have the lid of the MC reservoir loosened, if this method is used,- so brake fluid has a path to least resistance.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Maybe you can use a C clamps, while the brake pads are still in , to push the piston slowly in,-- breaking the (seizure). Be sure to have the lid of the MC reservoir loosened, if this method is used,- so brake fluid has a path to least resistance.