Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a complete newbie to any type of mechanical work, so reading these forums has most definitely helped. For someone with little to no confidence in what i'm doing pictures and seeing someone else do it help a lot. So I figured I would start small and post about my results of cleaning my tank and sealing with redkote

Take the tank of the bike

IMG_0483.JPG IMG_0484.JPG

Initial view of rust. Some heavy stuff in patches.

After doing some reading, It looks like it is in my best interest and cheapest to buy some apple cider vinegar (about $4 a gallon from walmart). Plug the drain hole of the tank, I used alot of duct tape and a rubber plug, and brim the tank.
IMG_0491.JPG

I let the vinegar sit in the tank for about a day, figured a longer time wouldn't hurt.
I then dropped a small piece of chain into the tank, Put the cap back on and shook to try and agitate the rust. Not sure how much this helped with the vinegar already working but lets just say it did lol.

Drain the vinegar from the tank. When i immediately drained the tank, I had a FANTASTIC looking inside, no rust at all. Vinegar worked great, However it started to flash rust almost immediately, I did my best to neutralize it with baking soda and distilled water. It helped a little but there was still some rust left over, not as bad as originally so I was happy.

IMG_0582.JPG
inside of tank Post-vinegar bath and baking soda rinse.

I then let the tank dry for about a week, mainly because I was caught up with stuff at work and didn't have time.

Now time to seal the tank
I used Redkote for this, purchased on ebay for $25. A local powder coating place recommended it, and the internet supported their recommendations.
I first used some acetone to swish around the tank and make sure the inside was free of liquid/grease.

IMG_0589.JPG