Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if putting tubes in our tubeless tires enhances the safety factor regarding rapid deflation [which we all know rarely happens but it does happen occasionally]. My understanding is that the tires will run warmer than normal but is this potentially safer? Pros and con?

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
IF you want to run Tubes - then go ahead - but it's a waste of money, why do you think they invented a tubeless system ?? - smarter - cheaper - better, or so you could add some tubes to them if you thought it would be safer ?? I dunno - but you got my 2 cents worth

·
Super Moderator
23,713 Posts
The only reason to install tubes on a tubeless rim I can think of is if some total moron of a tyre fitter has gouged up the tyre mounting flanges on the rim so badly that you can't get an air tight seal.

·
Registered
1,474 Posts
I am no expert but the tires were designed to run without tubes. I have been told the tires are going to run at different temps with tubes, which can affect traction.

You stand a much greater chance of rapid deflation WITH tubes than without. The valve stem on a tube does not seal at all in our rims, and a hole in the tube caused by a nail etc will leak air out the stem hole. Add to that the problem of having to repair a tire on the side of the road somewhere and it really makes no sense at all to run tubes.

·
Registered
8,423 Posts
I've run with tubes and none tubes.I didn't notice any differences.About the only advantage I could see would be if on a long journey where you might not have access to repair/exchange facilities it may be possible to repair the tube if you get a puncture.

My 10 penn'th.

·
Registered
4,104 Posts
IMO go tubeless.

No advantage in tubes and the only reason I can think of why they were fitted is

when a tyre fitter couldnt get a seal on the rim and it was quicker to fit a tube

than clean up the rim.