Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so... I am NOT comfortable doing heavy mechanical work, very basic Maintenance is all I am really comfortable with (yes you can laugh at me if you wish)

Have an 81 CX500C (not mine officially, just watching it while my Brother-In-Law is deployed)

He got it after it had sit in a shed for several years, took it to some guys had the carbs cleaned, etc... That was in, oh 2006? Worked fine for him, no issues. Still no issues, but I want to keep it that way.

My plan is to drive it to work to save a bit of money.

Decided to change the Oil Filter/Oil before I started riding it regularly, and I figured while I was there I would change the Air Filter...

Well, while I am doing the oil change I find there is a spring in the Oil Filter Casing (and the Oil Filter was dated March 06, thats where I get the 06 number from) the Washer is missing, and, after popping the seat, I find, there was no Air Filter in it either(there is now). I rode it down about 10 miles, and didn't really notice any performance increase from the bike, I didn't ride it much before I did the oil change, though. I do know, from experience, it got about 41 .5mpg on 2.21 gallons (83 miles per 2.1 gallons of gas), haven't tested post oil/air change yet.

First Question: I know the Washer is needed, but do I have to get it right this minute, or can I wait until I change the oil again?

Second and Third Questions: With the Air Filter being gone from the unit, for who knows how long, what could it have effected? And what do I need to do?

Fourth Question: Should there have been a performance increase, and me not really noticing, could that mean that the carbs need cleaned again?

·
Super Moderator
11,455 Posts