Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

So clearly its not done and there is much work to do. This is my first attempt at anything bike related. So far some of the things I have done: tore it down to frame painted it and many other parts, rebuilt carbs (out sourced), por-15 the tank, replaced all engine gaskets and o rings, cam chain, coil packs and various other odds and ends that have needed replacing.

To get it cranked all that is left is(I think): gas lines & filter, oil, spark plugs, battery, oh and money

·
Registered
258 Posts
That last item on your list seems to be the hardest part to souce!
Looking good!

·
Registered
62 Posts

So clearly its not done and there is much work to do. This is my first attempt at anything bike related. So far some of the things I have done: tore it down to frame painted it and many other parts, rebuilt carbs (out sourced), por-15 the tank, replaced all engine gaskets and o rings, cam chain, coil packs and various other odds and ends that have needed replacing.

To get it cranked all that is left is(I think): gas lines & filter, oil, spark plugs, battery, oh and money

You and I have similar builds. Mine is just a frame right now. I'm going to be posting my bike on here shortly. I bought the carb rebuild book from Larry Cargill and did it myself. I plan on powder coating my frame and parts soon and begin the rebuild. My question to you is how big a pain it was to replace the engine gaskets? And do you use an adhesive to apply them? And why did you feel it was necessary to replace the cam chain? Just wondering if I need to because I'd rather to do it when I have it apart anyway.

Thanks

Scott

·
Registered
948 Posts
I love the meticulous nature of your rebuild. The personal attention to detail is something that is hard to buy.

·
Registered
4,035 Posts