Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On my bike I've installed an aftermarket digital temperature gauge, with the awesome advice from another forum member littlebr4d. I also replaced the thermostat because it was defective, flushed the radiator and refilled with coolant.

Today I went out riding to practice proper stopping, turning and motorcycle basics as I am a newbie and want to make sure I'm safe before going out with real traffic....

As I was driving around on 1st and 2nd gear, I noticed that the bike would increase temperature. It was averaging about 210 to 215 F and I got as high as up to 233 F. On this digital gauge the warning light turns on at 210 I believe... Today's temperature here in Winnipeg (Canada) was 27 degrees Celsius which is equal to 80 degrees Fahrenheit.

A couple things I observed:
- on 3rd and 4th gear, the temp would be about 210 F and the warning light would turn off
- I have a leak at the bottom rad hose on the left side of the bike, which I am hoping is why the bike is getting warm so quickly

So with all this happening, does anyone know what is the normal operating temperature of the CX500's? The stock temp gauge just has white and red lines and no actual values. Ive read another post that states the thermostat fully opens between 199 and 205 F but this only partly answers my question.

My bike is a 1979 CX500 Deluxe. 2-2 no h-box with pods and properly jetted. Idles at 1100.

*Note* in my attachment it looks like it says 5 but it's actually 215. The camera on my phone didnt jive well with the gauge display lol..

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
3,207 Posts
It's been so long since I rode a CX with a digital temp gauge that I forget what the normal readings are... I probably wrote them down somewhere.

As a point of reference, though, the thermostat on these bikes does not fully open until 95C (203F). Starts to open around 180F.

·
Super Moderator
3,207 Posts