Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m hoping to get some advice on replacing my master cylinder and brake line on an 81CX500, which I am quite eager to render safe and fully roadworthy. The existing master cylinder is a sun-rotted mess, though it is perfectly functional at this time. It just needs to go.

I went and purchased a good new master cylinder from 4into1 and I bought a matching stainless steel braided brake line from JDA enterprises, as well as new EBC brake pads to change out while I’m at it. Oh, and plenty of DOT3 brake fluid. I also understand that brake fluid + paint = bad as well. :)

It should be noted that I’m a very inexperienced mechanic, but I’m eager to learn and grow with my new bike.

I feel reasonably good about getting them installed and connected from a mechanical perspective, but frankly, the prospect of filling them with brake fluid and getting them bled is daunting.

I understand the basic principle that air in brake lines = bad. Where I’m hoping to ask for your advice is in figuring out the best way for me to properly get them bled. I’ve been doing some research, and I’ve seen a few different methods, such as creating some kind of vacuum system from a mason jar to using a set of needle nose pliers to crimp the brake line (which seems like a bad idea with stainless steel braid) and form some kind of one-way valve, though that seemed to be more relevant to doing a brakeline flush.

I’ve seen several “brake line bleeder kits” on Amazon, but I have no way of knowing if they would even have the right fittings to attach to the system. I really dont want to spend $100 on a vacuum kit if I don’t have to, and while I have essential tools, I’m not equipped to fabricate a custom banjo bolt (for use with a large syringe) as seen in Larry Cargill’s video on this subject.