Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to these bikes & dont know what sounds are normal or not.First at 60mph 5th gear I notice a cyclic type sound at about 1 sec intervals.Its like a high pithed hum & goes away or lessens above & below this speed.

The other noise I hear is a rattle at idle that goes away as you release the clutch in gear,I think maybe its just countershaft gear chatter & is normal I hope.

I'm hoping all these are normal .the bike has 34000km on it & there is no indication of anything abnormal in the oil.thanks for any info

·
Registered
95 Posts
. . . at 60mph 5th gear I notice a cyclic type sound at about 1 sec intervals.Its like a high pitched hum & goes away or lessens above & below this speed. . . . I'm hoping all these are normal

I have a very similar hum on my '82 GL500I, but I've not attributed it to a speed yet. I'll make some runs tomorrow to get more data.

If it's not "normal", at least it's got company.

·
Registered
209 Posts
The chatter could possibly be the crappy worn springs in the clutch pressure plate. The springs on are used as a means of dampening vibration for the clutch. The only easy way to replace them is a new clutch basket.... Which is expensive.

Now I've also noticed earlier CX's don't have the springs and are solid. But there is a extended piece of metal so I don't think you can use them on all CX engines.

·
Registered
8,423 Posts
At that mileage and if the bike has been reasonably well kept and if you are going to keep the bike then I would plan to return it to a great serviceable state come the end of the,"Season".

These sounds can be hard to track down so just go through the bike.

Replace all wheel bearings(Dead cheap) but you may need to make a little tool to take the locking rings out.The bearings used front and back are the same for all none turbo GL/CX500 models e.g RS 6302