Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a 79 cx500 custom that was not running and had the carbs off. I rebuilt the carbs and reinstalled them. I also adjusted the valves for good measure. I am pretty confident in my work as I was a small engine mechanic for a few years and have been working on engines since before I could drive.

I have verified compression, spark and fuel delivery but cannot get the engine to fire. Even if I squirt starting fluid into the intake or directly into the cylinders.

Any suggestions or assistance would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
Sounds like he spark is not being delivered at the right time.
Check timing, maybe with a timing light???
Check the pink and yellow wire from the CDI to the coils, pink to right, yellow to left.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I thought that also, but the engine has not been apart and my understanding is the timing is pretty hard to upset on these engines. I can throw a timing light on it when cranking to see what is going on.
The pink and yellow wires are correct and the spark is strong and blue when I pull the plugs and ground them while cranking.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What are your compression readings? How did you verify fuel delivery?
Compression is low. About 100 on left and 130 on right. However, the starting fluid should at least pop even with low compression.
I have confirmed there is fuel delivery. Non-vacuum petcock, glass fuel filter and the plugs are slightly wet. Not soaked but damp.

·
Registered
905 Posts
All elements seem to be in place for at least a pop. As O O says, the timing might be off. It wouldn't hurt to switch the coil connections and see what happens.

·
Registered
905 Posts
"Can it breathe? Maybe the airfilter is blocked if you have spark and fuel. The compression should also be enough to start."