Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I've been messing with my 79' cx500 now for 2 months. When I first got it , it ran great then I replaced battery... after doing so it wouldn't hold charge, I bought a rectifier put it in and then it would only start a few times then have to be jumped. I also replaced spark plugs.. then just yesterday i removed the carbs, cleaned them and put back.. still , cranks no fire up...now... I tested one spark plug and I have no spark... I'm so frustrated could it be coils?

·
Registered
468 Posts
dont throw parts at it yet - check all the connections - unplug and replug making sure they connect properly, check fro broken wires especially at the connectors, check the kill switch ...

its unlikely that somethin has suddenly failed - much more likely that you've disturbed / broken something.
Rayman

·
Super Moderator
5,797 Posts

·
Registered
2,979 Posts
Rays the expert.....but when you tested the "no spark side"...did you test with a new plug/swap plugs...or just ground the existing plug?

·
Super Moderator
5,797 Posts
Rays the expert.....but when you tested the "no spark side"...did you test with a new plug/swap plugs...or just ground the existing plug?
And did you ground to the valve cover? The valve cover is not a good place to ground a spark plug as it is insulated by rubber.

·
Registered
2,979 Posts
BTW...reclinedrelic posted just as I did....follow both suggestions....(not diminishing any contributions....)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
dont throw parts at it yet - check all the connections - unplug and replug making sure they connect properly, check fro broken wires especially at the connectors, check the kill switch ...

its unlikely that somethin has suddenly failed - much more likely that you've disturbed / broken something.
Rayman