Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went for a nice ride today... beautiful weather... bike running great. When I got home I noticed it was time for an oil and filter change and I wanted to change the antifreeze as well. So I did.

The oil change was routine. I slid a Wix filter in there, swapped out both o-rings, and put a shine on the filter cover. Then I added 2.6 quarts of O'Reilley's 10W40 and checked the dipstick. So far, so good.

Then I went to work on the cooling system, which I've never worked on before. I removed the shroud from the front of the radiator, removed the radiator cap and the overflow container's cap and unscrewed the plug on the bottom of the radiator. Some nondescript colored antifreeze gushed out.

I had bought my replacement antifreeze from the Harley shop in Jacksonville, which may have been my first mistake. When I poured it in the radiator, I noted it was orange instead of the expected green. Well, hell... at least it was silicate free and premixed. I went ahead and used it. As I'm buttoning up the bike I note that the antifreeze level in the overflow was full of the green stuff. Hmmm. I didn't add anything through that opening at all. I guess there's more antifreeze in the engine I didn't get. Oh, well.

So it was a slack job? You get what you pay for, I suppose.

Then I get on it and warm it up. Oil pressure comes up almost instantly and there are no leaks. I'm running it in neutral at about 4000 RPM for 3 minutes or so when all of the sudden the engine bogs down and then quits. It takes full rich to get a restart. It does it several times before I just decided to walk away for a while. There were no mechanical sounds of agony so I'm sure the lubrication system is all right. It acted like it was starved for fuel.