Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Just registered with your forum, I'm from the UK and currently own a 1980 CX500A and recently purchased a 1981 GL500 Silverwing Interstate which may need some work on the engine - water appears to be getting into the oil which over a 200 mile trip dropped on the dip stick by 1/3rd

I have just ordered a compression tester but as I've never used one before any advice would be very much appreciated.........

Regards

Longway

·
Super Moderator
15,417 Posts
Welcome in.

A compression tester is easy to use. Compression is best measured when the bike is warmed up.

Screw it in the spark plug hole, turn the kill switch on the bike and crank it over a few times and see what it's at.

There should be a button on the side of it to release the pressure and retest or move to the next one.

There are two options to your problem. One would be a blown headgasket. and the second would be the mechanical seal failed and the weep hole is plugged pushing coolant into the engine.

·
Registered
710 Posts
IWWT this is interesting, so this is just a question why do ya hold throttle wide open when testing compression? If i remember correctly I never did that for a vehicle. Maybe it's a silly question figured I would ask, I plan on doing compression test over winter just to see where it's at.

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
For a compression test, you also want to hold the throttle wide open during the cranking, and crank until the gage stops rising. This to to allow the maximum amount of air to enter the cylinders.