Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to bikes and I really like the old bike look. Originally I was looking at the cb's but most where already restored or changed into a cafe racer. So anyway looking over craigslist I finally founds a cx500 I really like the looks of it. It seems to have a decent history of reliability and user enjoyment. My plan it so make it into a cafe type bike, though how far I take it I haven't decided being that priorit one will be to get it running and then tearing it down to get the rust off. So here are some quick pics of the bike.

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
Welcome to the forum, and thanks for posting your location and bike model. Stick around and help us learn more about these bikes. I am not a big modification fan, but that just makes my originals more valuable. To each their own tho.

·
Registered
837 Posts
Welcome! You may wish to make friends with "Phil in Low Gap" North Carolina. Somewhere close to the border at Virginia. He does quite a few mods to bikes, although I'm not sure about Cafe Racers. Keep us all posted with photos of your progress. We're all keenly interested in all transverse twin mods.

Johnny

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It is possible that I could get to where I like it and don't want to modify it. I am just excited to get started.

·
Registered
8,422 Posts
I wouldn't bother modding it yet.I'd give it a good service e.g clean ALL electric contacts and connectors,

http://globalcxglvtwins.hostingdelivered.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72

http://www.pdsrecording.site90.com/cxgl500/Electrics.htm

change all fluids including changing the fork fluid for 20w fork oil,

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Bel-...2034959QQptZMotorcyclesQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

Generally clean it up ready for the season.If you bite off too much at this point you may not get the miles in when the weather gets better.