Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to mechanics, but last winter took apart the master cylinder, breaks and carbs. I rode my '80 CX500c for 2 days and then it died. I pump it in a local shop and they are saying the stator went on the bike. It wont turn over at all. They quoted me $1300 ($400) of which is parts to make the fix. The reason the price is so high is because, as they explained it, they need to drop the engine... Does this all sound legit?

I'm wondering if I am willing to buy all the parts is this something I could do? Does it require dropping the engine, because if it does, its probably better I don't get into that.

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
Wow.....Im in the wrong business. Maybe I should just start doing stators and water pumps for $1000 and scoop up all the business:D

·
Super Moderator
3,265 Posts
Dropping the motor on these is honestly not particularly difficult if you're mechanically inclined and can follow the directions in the FSM... and if you don't rush. There's pretty well always someone around on this forum to answer a query while you're mid-process and after you've done it once or twice you should be comfortably able to do it solo in under an hour without rushing.

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
I have installed several stators, cam chains and mechanical seals and all I got
was a hand shake, a pat on the back and some good experience. If you have any mechanical experience
and a few tools you can do this. These bikes are easy to work on. It would help if you can find a forum member
close by who is willing to help with this project. Has anyone tried to use Skype for something like this???.
That would be like having an assistant in the shop with you.

·
Registered
3,433 Posts
Sounds like the shop owner has a boat payment due.