Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1982 CX500 Custom with 6200 miles. I had my friend, who's more mechanically inclined help with the purchase/vetting.
It's my second bike (first was a 2014 CB300F). I have 2 years of riding experience total.
My goal with the CX500 was something that I could ride day one, but really learn motorcycles inside and out, including general maintenance (wife says I need a new hobby).

Outside of the basics they taught at moto school, I know 0 mechanically about motorcycles.
So my questions are pretty simple:

• Which websites or books should I be reading? (the more visual, the better)
  • What problems should I be on the look out for, given the milage/age of the bike? I'm aware of the triple bypass, but that seems a bit out of my comfort zone at this point.
  • What questions should I be asking that I'm not?

Thanks in advance! Look forward to being a part of this community for some time to come.

·
Super Moderator
15,149 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Please add your location to your profile and your bike's correct model & year of manufacture to your signature (see link in my signature).

Start by going to the CX Wiki (link in my signature) and reading everything there. While you are there download the Factory Service Manual for your bike and go through it.

You may have thought you were just getting a cheap old bike but what you actually have is a 35 year old antique vehicle that has had who knows how many Previous Owners who may or may not have done the necessary maintenance & repairs to keep it safe & reliable. Because of that it is recommended to perform every maintenance procedure listed in the FSM for every service interval, regardless of what your bike's odometer says (6,200 miles in 35 years means either it has been left unused for years at a time or it is really 106,200 or maybe the speedometer has been replaced).