Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone,

First post here. Just got the bike a little over a week ago. Been messing around with it. Took it out all day on saturday and part of sunday and noticed that it hesitates in 1st and 2nd gear in lower RPMs. I also noticed it backfiring yesterday when I took it for a spin, along with the hesitations.

Also, the throttle sticks and it usually takes me a few times of pressing the start button before she'll get going on a cold start. I'm not sure if these issues are related in any way. I'm very new to motorcycles and trying to learn. I bought the bike cheap with intention of learning and trying to build a cafe of my own.

Any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
3,804 Posts
Do you have the FSM [factory service manual] yet?
Download from the link below.
Do the "high mileage checkup".

Get Larrys carb book or have someone clean your carbs.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Looking at the service manual now.

I think this will be a good first place to start. Thanks OCR.

·
Registered
4,398 Posts
Before you start hackin' away to "build your cafe", you should consider getting the bike as a reliable daily rider first.

This simple exercise will make any problems generated during your build solved more simply.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Before you start hackin' away to "build your cafe", you should consider getting the bike as a reliable daily rider first.

This simple exercise will make any problems generated during your build solved more simply.
Yea definitely. That's the goal right now. Once she's up and going steady then I'll look at changing things up. I already ordered Larry's book so once I get that in I'll go to town on the carbs. Any suggestions on what to get ahead of time so I don't have to wait to get to cleaning them?

·
Super Moderator
21,157 Posts