Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1980 CX500 Custom
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New guy here from GA. I was just given a cx 500 and wanted to know if it was worth even taking it over. I don't know anything about the bike or cx 500s in general. I pick it up this weekend. I don't know the year but I do know it doesn't run. It's a project for me and my son. Or at least I hope it will be. I'm no mechanic or fabricator by any means but a bobber build is what were after. Am I being too ambitious? It's just really hard to turn down a free bike. So what am I up against? Are parts even available for these bikes? If I get it I'm sure I'll be on this forum alot asking stupid questions. I know I know....Google is my friend 😅

·
Registered
1978 Honda CX500
14 Posts
Hi ChrisDiehl .. I paid $999.00 for a non-running 1978 CX500 (I did get a whole spare engine - so there is that, and the bike was also rebuilt into a cafe racer already), so you are in better shape than myself. I think you have picked a biased forum to pose your question to, and most, including myself, on here will think this is a great bobber build project for you and your son. In the forum here you can find most/all of what you are looking for.