Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
'80 CX500 C German 1G I think
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I recently purchased a 1980 cx500c (that hasn’t run in probably 20 years) that I am looking to rebuild/build into a cafe racer. I have some experience working on newer motorcycles but this is my first antique, so to speak, and by far my most intensive build yet. Just looking to see if there is anyone in the Atlanta area that has a cx500 and wouldn’t mind giving me some pointers or meeting up for lunch to show me their bike. Let me know.

·
Super Moderator
'84 CX650E that is evolving into a GL500
17,065 Posts
The best advice anyone can give you about customizing any vehicle is to get it safe & reliable in more or less original condition and use it for a while before you start making any changes so it can tell you what changes it needs to make it do what you want/need better. That approach almost always results in something you actually want to keep and use but making changes based on style or on what someone else (who may or may not really understand how the changes affect the way it works) has done often results in a piece of expensive yard art that you can't stand sitting on for more than a few minutes and might even be dangerous.

·
Registered
288 Posts
100% agree with SidecarBob's comment.

My version is ...
  • First make the engine work (carbs, valves, etc.)
  • Then make it roadworthy (tires, lights, brakes, etc.)
  • Finally, make it look the way you want it.

And please don't chop anything off the frame until you're ready to commit.

Enjoy.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·