Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as the title says I'm new at this been a car/truck mechanic for bout 5 years now but this is the first time I've ever worked on a bike. I'm building this bike frame up so I've stupidly jus torn the engine apart without taking care to keep the transmission all together. I've got the two pictures of the transmission components n I can figure out how they go on each rod individually but how does each mesh into each other and in what order is my question. Also while I've got the engine apart I'm planning on replacing certain high stress parts such as the piston bearings and the piston rings, but I am unsure as to the individual reliability of each part so what are some other common parts that go bad that I should replace while I have it apart. I am building this bike up as a reliable but powerful cafe racer style bike so any pointers on parts that I should upgrade beyond stock or styling pointers would also be appreciated. Well thanks in advance guys.

·
Registered
717 Posts
The engines are as tough as old boots - very simple and strong. Only weakness is cam chain tensioner and , if early model , ignition and stator.

Whilst doing the frame check for any corrosion on the pressed steel sections - foot rest hangers can be prone to corrosion.

Don`t forget that the youngest example is the better part of 30 years old thus the technology is of that era. Do not let this put you off though. They were very advanced in their day and can still hold their own when compared to most modern machines , especially with the subject of reliability in mind.

When thinking about upgrades try searching through some of the old forums - you might be surprised just what members have and can do with regards to this. Some of the ideas might " blow your mind "

·
Registered
101 Posts
SOme guy on here had a really detailed explanation of how you could bore it out to a 800cc bike