Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have several 500s, 3 GLs and 1 CX. The CX and one GL are parts bikes. The CX could be a runner but the PO took the ignition box off before I bought it.

These are all 1981.

My problem is this; The one GL I use as a daily driver has one major flaw. When I'm doing slow speed manuvering in the parking lot or any where I need to creep I have to really ride the clutch carefully.

As I begin to slowly roll in a little throttle it feels like nothing's happening then suddenly the engine revs alot completely missing the very low speed just off-idle area of the RPM band. The bike lurches forward violently enough to fully extend the forks as the front of the frame raises up from the torque.

Has anyone on the forum sent their carbs out for a rebuild or done them themselves and found the throttle shafts were sticking? Are these shafts a problem area on these carbs?

I am an ASE Master Tech for automobiles however I'm trying to get a handle on the quirks of these twisted engines.

Any help I can get with this problem will be greatly appreciated. If the carb rebuilds are straightforward I can do that with no problem.

Thank You for all your help

Danno

·
Registered
948 Posts
I have recently rebuilt my carburetors, according to the most excellent method lined out in Larry Cargill's cool carburetor book. One of the steps in his method is to oil the felt seals where the shafts penetrate the carburetor bodies. I also oiled the shafts from inside the carburetors as well, along with all of the coil springs. My carburetors react very smoothly now.

·
Registered
4,035 Posts
Sounds like you may have some jets plugged in your carbs.....the carbs should supply the engine progressively with fuel with slight throttle changes. You may have a dead spot. Check out the carb rebuild/cleaning threads.

·
Registered
3,999 Posts