Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1983 Honda GL650I Silver Wing Interstates (1 Red, 1 Gray)
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK vintage bike enthusiasts, I have a parts mystery to solve.

This front brake master cylinder assembly was on the red 1983 GL650I Silver Wing I acquired some months back and am working on reconditioning. It is NOT the correct assembly for this bike, so I have sourced the correct assembly and replaced it.

Wood Handgun holster Tool Gas Bumper

Wood Hand tool Tongue-and-groove pliers Pollaxe Wire stripper

Handgun holster Tool Wood Pliers Auto part

Wood Auto part Fashion accessory Metal Personal protective equipment

Rectangle Camera accessory Electronic device Gadget Font

That leaves me with this master cylinder assembly that I can't identify. I have been restoring vintage Japanese bikes for a few decades now, mostly Honda, but some Suzuki and Yamaha models mixed in as well.

The shape of the brake lever is particularly stumping me regarding which make/model of bike this MC belongs to.

Does anybody recognize this MC assembly and know what bike's it might be correct for?

·
Premium Member
1978 CX500 "The Grub", 1983 GL650I "Nimbus"
12,429 Posts
Isn't that the aftermarket MC commonly recommended on this forum?

Reactions: bobnstuff

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Could be from a 1981 Yamaha XS1100 Midnight Special or 1982 Yamaha XJ1100 Maxim.
The brake levers look right on those bikes, with the finger ridges. But, the master cylinder cups aren't rectangular, they're quadrilateral, in this case narrower on the forward edge.

Thanks for the ideas.

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Isn't that the aftermarket MC commonly recommended on this forum?
Did a search for "aftermarket master cylinder" on this forum and found a number of threads.