Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I was hoping to start one of these threads a couple months further into the process, but I have some initial questions as I start my CX500 build. I'm very new to this whole thing, but do have experience working on Hondas cars, so I'm not totally in the dark.

1. I picked up an abandoned CX500 project last week and am trying to sort through any modifications that may have been done. My eyes aren't as keen as yours, so I was hoping that maybe you guys you give it an ocular pat down and let me know if you see any obvious mods (I did notice that the rear suspension has been upgraded as well as the handlebars)

2. The top end of the motor needs to be rebuilt. I'm not exactly sure what's wrong with it, since it doesn't run. I'm curious if it's worth the hassle of untangling that mess or should I just purchasing a new motor all together?

bR4PquG.jpg

·
Registered
370 Posts
I'd be mostly worried about your drive shaft angle...it looks way too steep to me. They have a tolerance of something like +/- 4.5 degrees. Your pushing 15 or better from what it looks like. It may be better on the ground, but mine doesn't droop that much on the stand.

You look like you have your work ahead of you, but it does have potential. You might be better off finding a running CX500 on CL or the like and use it as a donor bike for your project. With a cool name like CX5HUNDO, you HAVE to build it now :)

Either way, good luck with your journey!

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You think the driveshaft angle be due to the aftermarket coils? Part of the reason I asked this question initially was because of how steep the bike looked in the front. It's interesting that it was actually the rear.