Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I'm new to the cx500 world. I gotta say it's an awesome little bike. I have an '82. I have some questions, and I will take pictures as I go so everyone can keep track of my progress.

First question: Re-boring, I have a company near me that can do it. Where can I find new pistons?

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Another question, If I am going to clean the carbeurator in an ultrasonic cleaner. Should I take them apart first, leave them intact, or both?

·
Registered
205 Posts
The general consensus on this board is that purchasing a low mileage engine from a barn find (extremely common) is much cheaper than even attempting to rebuild a stock size motor let alone changing the piston size. Money can cure everything but how much do you want to invest in this project is the question.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
JAMMAN, Is there another motor (prefferably not a turbo) That will fit this bike without too much rigging? I would like to keep the motor "sideways" Like it is now.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Not quite sure but there are a LOT of 82 CX500's out there and I'm relatively sure it would fit LOL.

Contact Murrayf he could tell you exactly what to get to avoid the issues with electrical system changes throughout the years. Just because the motor will fit which I would guess a lot of CX500 and GL500 would bolt right in physically, the electrical differences in ignition setups can run into money when converting. Best to get one that will bolt up and plug in too IMO.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I wouldn't want to get another 500 if I was to get a different engine. I would just get a 650 or 650 turbo variant.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Cjkoschnick,
Thank you, where can I purchase that book? I just looked through amazon and eBay, cannot seem to find one.

·
Registered
807 Posts