Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

Registered
1981 cx500 custom
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks
A year ago i procured an 81 cx500. With the help of a local professional, she is running and riding good.
My issue now is the charging system.
Now, to be brunt, i am no mechanical and sometimes struggle to change the oil on my mower.
The battery doesn't hold a charge, and when i put the ol multi meter on it, it doesn't register and increase in volts when running.
So, i guess i am looking at a stator and regulator?
I'll take the seat off and check what i can at the connections.
If anyone has been in similar straits,
did you drop rhe engine yourself and learn in process, or bite the bank account and take the repair to a shop?
All feedback is greatly appreciated.
馃槉

Super Moderator
For now, take the seat off and find the CDI box. Directly behind it are three connectors.

You are after the 3 wire connector with the yellow wires.

Disconnect that and probe the side leading to the motor on all combinations of the three pins with a multimeter set to ohms.

You should have full continuity between all pairs of pins. Now probe them while grounding your other probe. There should be no reading here.

So continuity between combos of pins - good.

Continuity between pins and ground - bad.

Registered
Welcome @Pinalski. You've come to the right place for CX/GL help. Try fixing it yourself (with the help of the forum) before you take to a "professional'. Hundreds of years of experience here!

Reactions: Pinalski

Registered
1981 cx500 custom
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
For now, take the seat off and find the CDI box. Directly behind it are three connectors.

You are after the 3 wire connector with the yellow wires.

Disconnect that and probe the side leading to the motor on all combinations of the three pins with a multimeter set to ohms.