Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a newbie here, so I apologize in advance for some basic and trivial questions.. .) I will start new build thread later but first I need some quick tip from you, dear CX Jedi knights..

Please, what is the maximum width of the front and rear tyre I can put on? In the user manual, they say that 3.25inches and 3.75inches should be chosen as a front/rear tyre.

Can I go for 3.5 (3.75 eventually) and 4 (4.25) for front/rear?

I am bit worrying about smooth tyre spinning around the swingarm..

Can anyone pls give me some advice?..

thanks a lot

Bert

·
Registered
443 Posts
Welcome to the forum.
It helps if you post which bike model you have but I think this one boils down to the same issue, over and over.
Going larger on the rear tire stands the chance of giving you interference problems with he swing arm. Even if it doesn't hit while it's on the stand, it can heat up and expand, which can lead to your tire wearing abnormally and causing you a safety issue. Different tire manufacturers have different tolerances, so you may get away with fitting some manufacturers tires of a larger size but not others.
Take a minute to search the forum for tires. This question comes up quite often, so there will be lots of discussion on it. The end advice is always the same - stick with the standard sizes, unless you prefer to do some costly research.

Good luck

John

·
Registered
807 Posts