Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright got Larrys Carb book and followed the process. Did buy a carb rebuild kit with new jets and all. Was not able to sync carbs and that might be the problem just wanted someone with more knowledge to chime in. Sorry for the quality of the video. History of the bike it was stored in a barn in northern virginia for 20 or so years. Only has 2500 miles, there are a few bolts missing on the engine mounts so I dont know if the bike was having issues before it was parked but the seller SAYS NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH IT WHEN PARKED. Tried doing the easy pine-sol carb clean but was not getting the right side to kick in untill 5000 plus. Now it will at least run when the left plug is pulled but not as strong. Lots of poping and backfire when engine revved. I am just learning to work on engines so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
377 Posts
Alright got Larrys Carb book and followed the process. Did buy a carb rebuild kit with new jets and all. Was not able to sync carbs and that might be the problem just wanted someone with more knowledge to chime in. Sorry for the quality of the video. History of the bike it was stored in a barn in northern virginia for 20 or so years. Only has 2500 miles, there are a few bolts missing on the engine mounts so I dont know if the bike was having issues before it was parked but the seller SAYS NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH IT WHEN PARKED. Tried doing the easy pine-sol carb clean but was not getting the right side to kick in untill 5000 plus. Now it will at least run when the left plug is pulled but not as strong. Lots of poping and backfire when engine revved. I am just learning to work on engines so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

You said you were not able to synch the carbs, do you mean on the bench on on the bike?