Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Is this a lost cause?
In my effort to replace the pads on my single piston brake caliper, I decided to rebuild the master cylinder as well.

After purchasing the rebuild kits, draining the brake fluid, and disassembling the parts, I'm left with what appears to be very worn parts.
This is my first time doing brake work on a motorcycle. Is the caliper walls and piston too pitted to keep? Should I replace the whole master cylinder unit? Is there any way to clean these properly before the rebuild?

I've read some threads regarding online purchases. I think rebuilding the two will help my skills but if they're only going to fail after reassembly, I'd rather just buy new parts.
I don't feel like spending the money on new parts right now though. At least I have a second bike while this one is on reserve.

Attachments

·
Registered
188 Posts
I am no break expert, but judging from those pics it looks like a good clean (honing the cylinders) should clean that up nicely. I doubt that the micromilimeters worth of shavings the honing will create will effect the reliability of the piston - the power is in the hydrolics / pressure and not so much on how snug the piston sits in the cylinder.

IF you are going to go and buy new parts - keep an eye out for a better unit all together. Something off of a CB900 will boly on and is a much better break.

·
Registered
637 Posts