Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

I'm excited to say that I am looking to buy a Honda CX500 for the purpose of around town and possible trip riding. I have been riding for 10 years. Recently owned a '98 Kawasaki Vulcan and more recently a '74 Honda CB360. I love the looks of the CX500 as well as what I've heard about them. I need some sage advice about models on this bike.

Here's a few questions I have:

What years are the most reliably built or have less issues overall?

What problems or potential problem areas should I be looking for specifically to the CX500 when buying?

That's all for now. I'm going to look at a 1980 w/ 30,000 miles on it possibly tonight or tomorrow. I haven't even ridden one yet, so I figured I'd go test drive and see if the seller knows a lot about them or if he's just had worry free years and no problems.

Thanks in advance!!

Ryan

·
Super Moderator
11,471 Posts
Where are you located Ryan? Put that in your profile. My buyer backed out, so my 82 CX500 Custom is on the market again. MY LINK

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That is some great information! Thank you! Once I actually BUY the bike, I will look more into that information. However, I'm wondering what to look for BEFORE I buy a CX500.

For example, does this bike have a cam chain issue? If so what does it usually sound like and which side of the engine is it on?

Are there some good tests I can do while I am looking at a bike to check for full function of the engine and systems? I don't mind taking my tools and tearing a few things apart .. .. with the owners permission of course

Does this bike have any recalls? If so, what years and how would I know they have been addressed?