Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Im pretty new to this, i got my first bike a couple days ago, it's a 1979 CX500. When i bought the bike my friend and i checked the oil and it looked normal, but now a couple days later the oil has a lighter milky tent to it. Im nervous that it may need the mechanical seal replaced. I will post a few photos of the oil after i drained it from the bike.

Also how hard of a process is replacing the mechanical seal? I know that you normally have to take the engine out of the bike but i also saw some people on here talking about the "shep" method that may not require taking the engine all the way out?

Any tips and advice will be greatly appreciated!

Photo May 13, 9 00 07 AM.jpg Photo May 13, 9 08 47 AM.jpg Photo May 13, 9 13 22 AM.jpg

·
Registered
371 Posts
Yes, I've seen oil like that!....The oil will absorb/suspend a small amount of antifreeze ,but beyond that small amount, after running the bike a bit longer, you can let the oil sit in a glass jar awhile,and the antifreeze/water will settle to the bottom, just incase you have any doubts or hopes it might be some other thing making the oil milky. But burning antifreeze is not good for the engine.

...sadly, it's not unheard of that a seller bangs a nail into the weephole,changes the oil and flogs the bike. In my case, the PO did such a fine job, I could not find the weephole until I took the bike apart! I wonder if this happened to you?

It is actually pretty easy to take the engine out and it makes it very easy to work on.

·
Registered
321 Posts
The weep hole is a dead giveaway if you have a mech seal problem. If the engine is clean of oily/coolant stains just above the starter, I'd also consider a leaky head gasket.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4