Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been wondering lately if it would be possible to remove the starter and fab a kick start for a CX. Does anyone have any insight on possible hangups with this? I figured using an arm from some other bike may not work simply because our engines are twisted. I'm thinking the way the arms swing to be parallel with the bike might not work with our engine configuration. Any thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
15,416 Posts
If you have the time and money to waste then it's possible. But also pointless.

The question I would have is can the starter reduction gear take it. I would also say that you would probably have to cannibalize a starter and cut/shape/weld it into a device that could handle a a ratcheting kick start.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The reasoning behind a conversion would be to eliminate the need for a large battery. I'm no expert, but as far as I understand, starting the bike, especially in cold weather, necessitates a bigger stronger battery.

·
Registered
273 Posts
When you finish with that how about a breaker point ignition conversion?

Maybe mount it on the cam stub after converting to electric fan?

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
haha, no ones thinking along the same lines here, anyone?? Maybe I should just remove the engine all together and make a kick bike

·
Super Moderator
15,416 Posts
The reasoning behind a conversion would be to eliminate the need for a large battery. I'm no expert, but as far as I understand, starting the bike, especially in cold weather, necessitates a bigger stronger battery.

Your cold weather or my cold weather? In most instances for me it wasn't the battery that was the problem in the cold. It was moisture in the gas.

·
Registered
851 Posts